‎Can't access system online or in the app after canceling subscription | SimpliSafe Support Home
 
SimpliWasteOfMoney's profile

Thursday, October 13th, 2022 4:02 AM

Can't access system online or in the app after canceling subscription

First, where are all of the comments in this community? I found multiple posts for my issues and they indicate there are several comments, but not a single response is shown on any of the posts I view.

Today I canceled my subscription. Unfortunately this caused my app to forget I have a system. When attempting to set it back up it asks for a master PIN. When I enter the PIN nothing happens. So I go on the website and when I enter the PIN it says "Check internet connection". The system is connected to WiFi and events are showing in my timeline so I know it's online. Very odd that I can see my timeline, but I can't do anything else on the app or website. Any suggestions? 

Official Solution

Community Admin

 • 

5.5K Messages

2 years ago

Hi @SimpliWasteOfMoney ,

So sorry about the difficulty you've had. It sounds like what happened is that when you requested cancellation, the representative canceled your entire account, preventing the Base Station from communicating with it. Since you seem to want to continue using your system with Basic App Controls, the correct procedure should have been a downgrade.

I've requested a call from a senior specialist, and we'll get your account back online.

1 Message

@davey_d​ 

hey there, I’m having the same issue. I believe the customer service rep cancelled my account instead of downgrading. Can you get my account back up as well?

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

@jaydedzierba​ If you contact our Support team, our agents will be able to re-activate your account under our free Basic App Control plan.

1 Message

1 year ago

Hello I am having the same problem since downgrading yesterday.

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

Hi @mtn1955​, 

I'm sorry to hear this! It seems that your system might have been cancelled rather than downgraded. I've escalated this to our Support team - a senior specialist will be reaching out to you soon.

1 Message

This also happened to me... 

This reply has been converted into a comment

1 Message

1 year ago

This also happened to me... 

This comment was created from this reply

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

@jaenkesj​, I'm sorry to hear this! I've forwarded your case to our Support Team; a Specialist will reach out to you soon to get this fixed. 

1 Message

@emily_s​ This happened to me today...

This reply has been converted into a comment

1 Message

1 year ago

@emily_s​ This happened to me today...

This comment was created from this reply

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

@apoxy13​, I've forwarded this to our Support team. A Specialist will reach out to you soon to make this right! 

1 Message

I have also experienced this problem and now my system is useless!  Seems the tech that took care of my request to cancel monitoring should have mentioned downgrade as an option because I did not purchase this alarm system just to find it is now useless!! 

[edited], please have support contact me!

(edited)

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

@wesspence​ I first want to let you know that I edited your comment to remove your email address. The Community is a public forum, and we want to protect the privacy of our users!

If your reach out to our Support team, our agents can re-activate your account under the free Basic App Control plan. 

2 Messages

1 year ago

Same thing happened to me. Seems like this is a common occurrence?? You can contact me via email. Thank you.

Community Admin

 • 

5.5K Messages

@griffinkaren​ please call our Support team at 800-548-9508. We just need to re-activate your account under the Basic App Control (free) plan.

2 Messages

Why do I have to call?? Can't you just reactivate it? You have all my information. It was your companies error! 

(edited)

Community Admin

 • 

5.5K Messages

@griffinkaren​ apologies. There's two pieces that need to be done here. First, we need to reactivate your account, then second, we need to downgrade that account to the free version. For security reasons, we'll need to verbally confirm your Safe Word passcode over the phone to proceed. Unfortunately, we're not able to do that over here on the Community.

1 Message

This happened to me as well - please contact me to fix immediately 

Community Admin

 • 

5.5K Messages

@Taylorseniow​ please reach out to our Support team and our agents can take care of you.

1 Message

21 days ago

The same thing happened to me. I’m unable to even locate my system through the app & the web version shows everything greyed out/locked. Ridiculous!

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

@SimpliCrap​ I'm sorry to hear this. It sounds like instead of downgrading your account to the free Basic App Control plan, the agent canceled your account. In order to resolve this, please contact our Support team so they can re-activate your account.

1 Message

4 days ago

Kind of ridiculous that we spend all this money on your system and then we have to pay another ridiculous fee for features that should work. Then when we go to a "free" plan, our accounts get disabled and then we have to call back and reverse the mess up. I should have never purchased this system.

Community Admin

 • 

5.5K Messages

@rdfisher554​ we sincerely apologize for your experience. I think part of the confusion here is with the terminology.

Essentially, when we downgrade your plan to Basic App Control, our system still sees your security system as subscribed, just on the plan that costs $0. That way, your system can remain registered and connected to the app (for notifications, and to arm and disarm remotely, etc.).

But when your plan is canceled, that means your system is fully disconnected and no longer linked to the app or your account. If you wanted to, you would be able to pass on the system to another user, and they can activate that system on their own account (without having access to any of your account info).

So you should really have to call only once. The agent handling your call should ask whether you still want to use your system, so we can make sure that we select the right action for you.

New to the Community? Get started by reading our Welcome Article and please be sure to review our Community Guidelines before posting.