‎Delete Protected Location from Portal - NOT Hide Location from Dashboard | SimpliSafe Support Home
 
jasonaward's profile

Monday, October 24th, 2022 4:32 PM

Delete Protected Location from Portal - NOT Hide Location from Dashboard

In the past, I've had a location completed deleted from my profile.  What is the current process to get this done?  There has to be a way to remove a location besides just "hide location from dashboard"?

Official Solution

Community Admin

 • 

5.2K Messages

 • 

80 Points

1 year ago

Hi @jasonaward ,

Currently there is no way to delete locations, and that "Hiding" function is the recommended option.

In the past, our agents may have moved the record to somewhere else, so it's no longer visible to you. But that is no longer standard practice for our agents.

6 Messages

1 year ago

I also want to remove a location from my account.

17 Messages

1 year ago

I also would like to remove not hide a removed device account from my dashboard.

17 Messages

1 year ago

The HIDE option does not really hide it, in fact when I open my SimpliSafe page, it defauts to the DEACTIVATED account and not my current one.

1 Message

1 year ago

I almost reactivated a closed account because it still showed at the top of my dashboard! I just called and it now shows at the bottom of my dashboard with a big blue tag that says 'activate'.  That's better than it was, I guess the previous rep didn't complete the deactivation process when I called a month ago when we sold/moved. Seems like SS could come up with something... It's not like I'm going to repurchase this home and move back in!

17 Messages

1 year ago

I agree. The HIDE option is not a permanent fix for this problem. Someone from SS should address this.

35 Messages

10 months ago

how to delete protected locations that do not exist?  only have 1 cam plus 3 door sensors.  this list needs updating, very confusing list of equip.  this list says I have 8 devices (including base unit), I have 4

35 Messages

10 months ago

how do you change the name of the protected locations?  per my prev ?

very confusing list of equipment.

35 Messages

10 months ago

is the only way to update this list is to delete everything and then reinstall everything?  not a fan of that given my experience with SS.

Community Admin

 • 

5.2K Messages

 • 

80 Points

10 months ago

@katinfoco the tricky thing is that each of those "Protected Locations" represents a whole account. That's why they can't be deleted - they contain all of the records associated with that account. But you can use the "Hide" link for any account that is currently suspended.

For Standalone Camera accounts, the name is just taken from the name of the camera itself. You can change camera names in the SimpliSafe app, under ☰ Menu > My System > Camera Settings > [your camera name]. Tap the ✎ pencil next to the name at the top to modify.

1 Message

2 months ago

Having a location that is no longer owned because of sale or transfer makes no sense.  Policy or not the data capture SimpliSafe has done is no longer any concern of the system owner.  You would gain the appreciation of your clients not having to look at an attempt by SimpliSafe to garner more business with the reactivate a sold location.  Depending on the actual activation of that location could get the client and SimpliSafe in trouble for privacy violations from the old locations.  I recommend rethinking your policies.

1 month ago

Is the only way to delete an old location to delete my entire Simplisafe account and start over with new details? Seriously?

35 Messages

ridiculous that you cannot delete old locations or an old location setup...I have been battling this issue for years.  no resolution.  probably will dump SS because they cannot solve this simple problem.

New to the Community? Get started by reading our Welcome Post.